Reopening suggestions

 In Operators

Check out our latest newsletter for suggestions on how to operate your agritourism operation during Phase 2 in Florida

https://mailchi.mp/09418c493fd7/reopening-suggestions

Here are some examples of what farms and farmers markets are doing as best practices for re-opening their agritourism operations

At your market or for retail:

  1. Mark 6 feet distances for standing in lines, etc. and enforce a limited capacity in your store.
  2. Install plexiglass at registers to protect cashiers.
  3. Provide a box of masks or fabric for facial coverings for customers that may not have theirs with them.
  4. Require all employees to wear their face masks.
  5. Offer curbside service or online sales if possible to limit contact.
At your farm operation and packing facility:
  1. Require workers to wear masks, especially when they will be close to others, such as when riding on the bus to and from the fields.
  2. Temperature check employees every day.
  3. Assign a cleaning crew to spray equipment and high contact areas, including field workers’ accommodations, every day.
  4. Space out the packing line to allow 6 feet of distance when possible.
Some suggestions for event venues:
  1. Arrange tables to maintain 6 feet of physical distance.
  2. Arrange tables so that no more than 10 people from different households sit together.
  3. Post signage on entrance door that no one with a fever or symptoms of COVID-19 is to be permitted on the premises.
  4. Require employees to wear face coverings.
  5. Set up hand washing stations and encourage frequent use by employees and guests.
  6. Discourage use of buffets; if used, efforts to mitigate risks should include barriers to block virus spread from sneezes and coughs. Service utensils should be handled by staff.
The Department of Business and Professional Regulation is enforcing this order in restaurants and violation is a second-degree misdemeanor pursuant to section 252.50, Florida Statutes, and is punishable by imprisonment not to exceed 60 days, a fine not to exceed $500, or both.

Note that local government orders may be stricter, and in this case, supersede state orders

Recommended Posts

Start typing and press Enter to search